Thoughts on Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor

That’s an hour of me playing Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor (early gameplay on PS4), I’m now about 35 hours in, and I’ve absolutely wrecked the political landscape of Mordor. Every single Warchief, save one has been dominated, and the vast majority of Captains as well.

Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor

fee-fi-fo-fum, yummy, yummy Uruk’s for my tum!

It’s a great game, in fact, I’d go as far as to say it’s the first game I’ve played on PlayStation 4 that makes the jump feel worth it, thanks primarily to the Nemesis system. I thought Watch_Dogs would be that game, but if fell woefully short. Assassin’s Creed Unity looks like a gorgeous game, and Mordor’s similarities to the AC franchise are… overt, but Monolith seem to have addressed many of the numerous issues that have plagued Ubisoft’s games for so long. It’s weird, because around the time Far Cry 3 was released, I was beginning to wear of Ubisoft’s copy/paste gameplay systems. Find this tower, open up points on a map, rinse and repeat. Mordor rips that off whole hog, and yet, somehow, manages to feel completely fresh.

This won't end well.

This won’t end well.

Here’s the thing, Mordor is so good, and so much like the games in the AC franchise, that it kinda makes me kinda want to give AC: Unity a shot, despite the fact that I’m trying, on principle, NOT to buy any more Ubisoft games that utilize that well worn set of systems I described above. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

